Jul 20, 2024  
2024-2025 University Catalog 
2024-2025 University Catalog

Political Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Index of Academic Colleges, Departments, Programs, and Roadmaps


Mario Guerrero, Chair

Neil Chaturvedi
Brady Collins
Jarred Cuellar
Jill Hargis
Laureen Hom
Cody Kuhn
Mary Anne Mendoza
Elli Menounou
Robert Nyenhuis
Renford R. Reese
Marc Scarcelli
Marcos Scauso
Liza Taylor

The political science program is designed to provide students with the opportunity to acquire the kind of broad and rigorous education needed for life in the 21st century. The best career and life preparation is one which produces individuals who are both educated in the finest traditions of learning and equipped to adapt to constant and rapid change.

The department offers courses leading to the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. There are eight required courses that all majors much complete which are designed to give students an overview of the discipline and its subfields. Students are then able to select from a large number of units of political science electives in order to ensure flexibility and permit students to tailor their curricula to individual interests, needs, and career goals. For students in majors other than political science, the department offers a minor in political science.

Students majoring in political science who have at GPA of at least 3.0 overall and 3.3 in the major have the opportunity to join Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honorary society in political science. Additional information can be obtained from the Department of Political Science.


    BachelorMinorMasterRoadmap: 4-yearRoadmap: 2-year ADT


      Master of Public AdministrationPolitical SciencePage: 1 | 2

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Index of Academic Colleges, Departments, Programs, and Roadmaps